About Our Logo
Chris ODea, the principal auctioneer with ODeas Auction Room descended from Irish stock. Michael ODea, an Irish stone mason from county Tipperary, was the first of the ODea clan to arrive in Newfoundland, in the first decade of the 19th century. With masonry work scarce in Newfoundland, Michael established a farm on Freshwater Road, where the Taxation Data Centre now stands in St. Johns.
It is believed that the Tipperary ODeas may have descended from the ODeas that occupied the territory in Ireland that was called the Barony of Tullagh ODea, in the 7th century. At that time the family built a property complete with a round tower stone fortress, in a town that is now called Dysert in County Clare. Some of the ODeas original buildings are still standing in Dysert and open to the public for viewing. Among the remains is a significant stone Romanesque doorway. In fact another Michael ODea crossed the threshold of this doorway as it has been recorded that he remodeled the premises in the 17th century.
Chris ODea visited the Dysert ancestral homeland in Sept. 2000. He was so moved by the experience that he decided to recognize the legacy of the "ODea Rebel Clan". This recognition is manifested by using the Romanesque stone doorway as the logo and symbol of ODeas Auction Room. It is a fitting tribute to Michael ODea, the stone mason, who arrived on a ship in St. Johns in St. Johns Harbour on 1808 to start a new life as a farmer in this rugged land.
Just as the ODea ancestors entered a room through the Romanesque doorway, this logo symbolizes your entrance to ODeas Auction Room.
There is also symbolism in that early Newfoundland premises were referred to as Rooms, and early auction premises were referred to as auction rooms.
Welcome to O'Dea's Auction Room.Return to Top